I also listened to another poet’s work. She read multiple pieces on November 30 at UCSD. I will definitely remember thinking that there is no way I can read any of my own pieces as fast as she read hers without catching on some words, especially because she used interesting forms or repetition, one right after another, that it would have been very easy to stumble over words. Something I learned from her reading is that I can stray away from making pieces that make sense in the form of a perfectly coherent story, and instead write so that I am simply conveying one true emotion, or humor, or  just write something and let the reader try to turn it into sense herself. Things can be extremely random, yet be connected in the most intriguing ways. The only flaw I noticed were some problems with the microphone. It let its presence known a few times. I didn’t exactly learn anything brand new because I had already learned of the approaches she used in her pieces in my Creative Writing class. I definitely feel respect for this artist of words, because as strange as some of her pieces may sound, she has no fear of reading them aloud in front of people.

Leave a comment